Skip to main content

Teya Walkker

First Name
Last Name
Port Townsend
Coldwell Banker Best Homes
Which skills or areas of expertise are you willing to share?
Business Creation and Administration
Education and Training
International Travel, Touring
Social Services and Non Profit
Visual and Performance Arts and Crafts
I am interested in working with schools in my area
Special School Activities
9th Grade Community Mentoring Program
What kind of availability do you or your organization have to offer?
Advisership (longer term commitment)
Mentorship (coffee or lunch, shorter time commitment)
Briefly describe the program, volunteer work, or partnerships you or your organization may offer.
I relocated to Port Townsend 1 year ago. I miss being involved with students, especially high school level. I would like to be involved in the 9th grade community mentoring program this year. I would like to know about and be considered for other opportunities working with youth here in PT in the future.
You have indicated an expertise in Visual and Performance Arts & Crafts
I performed as an actress a lot during high school. My daughter was in theatre and dance and choreography, acting and directing, all through highschool and college, and now works in the film industry. My son-in-law is a graphic designer in the film industry. My god-son is a photographer and aspiring director. I am a good support to those endeavors. It's a lot of fun. I would not want to be in charge, but would be an extraordinary support as it is an arena I understand well.
You have indicated an expertise in Business Creation and Administration
I am a realtor, which is entrepreneurial business. I understand what it takes to generate business. I have a background in personal coaching and advising. I worked as an advisor and as the Director of Student Advising in a graduate school for PhD students in Human Development and Human and Organizational Systems, as well as other programs. Most of my students worked in business or had their own businesses.
You have indicated an expertise in Education and Training
I was an educator in a graduate school for 28 years. I taught courses in timeline planning, tips and tricks for being successful in graduate school, etc. I also have a background in counseling and coaching. I have led small groups with teens and adults. I have been a facilitator for trainings and workshops. I was also the Prayer Chaplain Coordinator and Trainer at Unity (in CA) and led that program for 2 years. Most recently, I was a Tobacco Use Prevention Educator working for Marin County Office of Education and Bay Area Community Resources working with high school students and at-risk youth (in addition to being a realtor). Through MCOE, I also had a mentee in their career mentor services program.
You have indicated an expertise in International Travel, Touring
I have travelled extensively, in Europe, South America and Asia. And, I'd love to travel more! I also was a host family for over 30 international students from all over the world, over the course of five years or so. I am very comfortable preparing and facilitating a great experience while travelling, and in guiding people to travel enjoyably. I am very comfortable with people of other cultures. I love people, I love learning, I love to travel, and I would love to travel a lot more! As an aside, my birthmother recently broke the world record as the oldest woman to climb Mt Kilimanjaro, and next year in 2018 she plans to do it again, to become the oldest person to make that climb. I am not a climber, but love of travel is in my bones :-)
You have indicated an expertise in Social Services and Non Profit
I worked for 28 years in a non-profit graduate school for Human Development, Psychology and Education as the Director of Student Advising. My work involved administration as well as advising and teaching. I had human resources and budget responsibilities as well. At least half our graduate students were involved in Social Services work and working in non-profits, all over the US as well as in many other countries.